Unexpected Renovations

Oh lord. Where to start.

Two and a half years ago we noticed that the plumbing in the shower needed some work. Easy cheesy. The bathroom was horrible and it had a plastic surround that we wanted to take out eventually. We figured we would put another one up since the bathroom needed a lot of work. Eventually we would tare the whole thing out eventually. Eventually.

This is what I came home to that night…

Bathroom Day 1

So yeah, turns out we were doing a total bathroom reno.

Flash forward 2 1/2 years and here we are today…

Bathroom 2.5

Squeee!!!! Things are moving folks! My father-in-law has been a God send. This man has done 85% of the work for us. We have saved a fortune. That being said, doing a bathroom reno with 3 kids and about 9 foster kiddos in and out is no joke. I repeat, NO JOKE. Also, this bathroom is insanely narrow so the tub was a special order and the vanity was a special order. Sure, a pedestal sink would save a ton of space but I have 5 kids so storage is not something to sneeze at.

Obviously there are still items on the to-do list. The vanity stone has been ordered and cut. Boom! It gets installed this week folks. THIS WEEK. I will have a WORKING SINK by the end of this week. I could die from joy. The best part is that we went to a remnant lot and got a slab of marble (thank you baby Jesus for the super narrow left over piece) at remnant granite prices. Its going to be amaze balls.

IMG_20160212_200959_01

It’s called Moon Glow Marble and its my new baby. I could almost die. Unless I seem dramatic, may I remind you its been 2 1/2 years. YEARS.

I have lighting fixtures, mirrors and trim waiting in the wings.

Here is the inspiration for the space. I think good things are happening.

Inset shelf replaces medicine cabinet.//Ask an Expert: Bathroom Renovation Trends:

Ballard Designs Renovation Trends

Leave a Reply

